Why Do YOU Love the Lord?

“ I love the LORD, because he hath heard my voice and my supplications. (2) Because he hath inclined his ear unto me, therefore will I call upon him as long as I live.” Psalm 116.1-2

The psalmist begins this psalm with a rather simple phrase: “I love the LORD, because …” How would YOU finish that phrase? The psalmist leaves no question in our minds as to why he loves the LORD. (1) He has heard my voice. (2) He has heard my supplications (my cry for mercy). (3) He has inclined His ear unto me.

Have you ever tried to get someone’s attention – you call their name and they act like they don’t hear you? You call again – and still no response. This time you SHOUT – and they look at you like, “WHAT?” Guess what? That NEVER happens with God – NEVER! I heard or read this phrase some years ago and I have never forgotten it: “Every time I speak His name, I have His ear!” THAT is ONE reason I love the Lord. But look again: “He has heard my cry for mercy …” He doesn’t just hear my voice, He hears the trembling in my voice – I need mercy! One of the problems with texting is that you cannot hear the tone of voice of the one who sent the text. A great misunderstanding can occur quickly. But He hears my cry for mercy. THAT is another reason I love the Lord. Finally, He bends down with His ear close to my mouth so He can HEAR everything I have to say – He doesn’t want to miss a single word. Can you picture that in your mind? And THAT is one more reason I love the Lord. The psalmist’s conclusion and mine is this: “Therefore will I call upon Him AS LONG AS I LIVE.” It really is not difficult to answer the question: ‘Why do you love the Lord?” A genuine prayer life gives reason enough! Just my thoughts …

Pastor Jerry

Leave a Reply

