Watch HOW You Walk!

“This I say then, Walk in the Spirit, and ye shall not fulfil the lust of the flesh. (17) For the flesh lusteth against the Spirit, and the Spirit against the flesh: and these are contrary the one to the other: so that ye cannot do the things that ye would.” Galatians 5.16-17

Have you ever caught yourself saying, “Why did I do that?” or “I wish I wouldn’t do that!” We look back at something we have done that we know doesn’t please the Lord, and we are disappointed with ourselves. Paul’s clear counsel for us here is to “Walk in the Spirit, and ye shall not fulfil the lust of the flesh.” So, what does it mean to “walk in the Spirit”? If I choose to walk in the Spirit, then I must make the deliberate choice to NOT give in to everything my flesh wants to do. That does away with selfishness. It forces me to focus on what God wants to do in me and through me rather than what I want to do to make myself feel good.
V. 17 explains the battle that goes on inside us between God’s Spirit and our own spirit (the flesh). This battle is an on-going battle. It is a daily battle, Sometimes it is a moment-by-moment battle. When you and I are willing to acknowledge that our lives are NOT about us, but they ARE all about Him, the choice to follow the leadership of God’s Spirit is much easier. For me, it is not worth all the “spiritual housekeeping” that I have to do to lose my focus on what God is doing and where God is taking me. So, I must daily make the choice to “surrender” all that I am and all that I have to Him. Remember, when one surrenders completely to God, there are NO OTHER OPTIONS! Just my thoughts …

Pastor Jerry

Leave a Reply

