He’s the Best!

“My little children, these things write I unto you, that ye sin not. And if any man sin, we have an advocate with the Father, Jesus Christ the righteous: (2) And he is the propitiation for our sins: and not for ours only, but also for the sins of the whole world.” 1 John 2.1-2

In the little epistle of 1 John we have a call to holy living – a pure life – a life above reproach. But John knows what we know, that we still have an old nature within us that wants to do nothing but sin. So, he brings hope to the struggling saint who says, “How can I do this? What do I do when I do sin?” We have an “advocate” – a go-between – a heavenly attorney – and He is Jesus Christ the Righteous. We couldn’t ask for better representation before the Father. He has already proven His commitment to us by giving Himself as our sacrifice for sin through His death at Calvary. Note the phrase in v. 2: “He is the propitiation for our sins …” One of the meanings of this word is “to stand up again.” Picture with me, if you will, the next time I sin, this Heavenly Attorney “stands up again” and says to His Father: “Father, “Father, I know Jerry just sinned. But remember I paid for that sin at the cross, so he is STILL perfect.” (1 John 4.17: “Herein is our love made perfect, that we may have boldness in the day of judgment: because as he (Christ) is (perfect), so are we (perfect) in this world.”) As a saint of God, the Father sees you and me through the eyes of His Son and EVERY sin we could ever commit He paid for with His blood. So, the Father sees us as perfect. Take that with you today as you rejoice in sins paid for and live a life before God that is worth living. Just my thoughts …

Pastor Jerry

Leave a Reply

