The Cure for Fear!

“The LORD is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? the LORD is the strength of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?” Psalm 27.1

We are living at a time when this world has become a fearful place. One needs only watch a local or national news cast to be reminded of the evil forces that are at work in our world. The psalmist David’s words here are a refreshing reminder of the God to whom we belong. David’s life proved to be a life that was full of turmoil – everything from being chased by his king to having a son who wanted to take his life. So, when I hear him say, , I pay attention. If God is MY light, I don’t have to wander around all day like I am in s“The LORD is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear?”ome kind of fog and don’t know what to do next. Fear is the product of the “unknown”. But when MY focus is on God, since HE knows everything, I don’t have to. Does that mean that I don’t CARE about what is coming? Not at all! But it does mean that I trust God more than I don’t trust the circumstances around me.
Then I hear David say, “the LORD is the strength of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?” There is more than ONE kind of strength. It would be easy to become obsessed with sheer “physical” strength. But physical strength is not what I need to carry me through an emotional train wreck. I need a spiritual dynamic that is anchored to the One who is not moved by trauma of any kind. The strength to face what THIS day holds must come from the One who is my ROCK – “ the LORD is the strength of my life …” When my “fellowship” with God is what I long for it to be, then I can and do put my fears in His hands and I walk away knowing that there is no one “of whom I (should) be afraid.” Just my thoughts …

Pastor Jerry

Leave a Reply

