God IS Believable!

“Every word of God is pure: he is a shield unto them that put their trust in him” Proverbs 30.5

Most of the issues that we have with God stem from not really believing the first words in this verse: “Every word of God is pure …” When I agree with God that EVERY WORD of His Book is pure (true), then the ball is in my court to find out all I can about this God who has chosen to reveal Himself to me. The more I learn about God, the more I learn about myself. The closer I draw to God, the more I realize His hatred of sin – not just in the world, but in MY life too. The more quickly I am willing to agree with God, the more quickly I am able to bring my life into a richer fellowship with Him. The ability to experience joy and peace in my walk with Him comes from a total acceptance of His Word.
The second phrase above flows quite easily from the first. If I can believe that EVERY WORD OF GOD IS PURE, it is easy to believe that “he is a shield unto them that put their trust in him.” When I realize that I NEED a shield to protect me from Satan’s constant attacks, then I need to believe that God alone is capable of being that shield. We must NEVER think that we can somehow protect OURSELVES from Satan’s darts. Solomon’s words here and Paul’s words in Ephesians 6 (about the armor of God) give us the assurance that we can be over-comers of Satan’s attacks when we ACKNOWLEDGE that God’s Word is pure, and that He is a shield whenever I put my trust in Him. Just my thoughts …

Pastor Jerry

Leave a Reply

