Embrace Contentment!

“Let your conversation be without covetousness; and be content with such things as ye have: for he hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee. (6) So that we may boldly say, The Lord is my helper, and I will not fear what man shall do unto me.” Hebrews 13.5-6

The word “conversation” here speaks to our “manner of living”, not just the words of our mouth. So the writer here is instructing the followers of Christ to to live a life free from covetousness. To further explain that statement, he says for us “to be content with such things as you have.” It sounds a lot like contentment is the opposite of covetousness. Contentment is a state of being that says we have enough and desire nothing more. How could we reach such a state as that? Glad you asked. The final phrase in vs. 5 says, “For he (God) has said, I will never leave you nor forsake you. If I am reading these words with the right understanding, if I have God in my life I have everything I need for a contented life. When I acknowledge that God will never leave me, I realize that in every circumstance of my life, He is there. THAT profound truth produces the contentment of which the writer speaks.
In vs. 6 he continues with these words: “So that we may boldly say, THE LORD is my helper …” The Lord is present with me. The Lord is my helper. What MORE could I possibly need? That acknowledgment brings me to a place of living without fear. An ongoing obsession with fear indicates that I do not BELIEVE that God is always with me – that He cares about my contentment – that His presence will sustain me. I do not want to project that image of God to the world around me. I want them to KNOW that God is enough. How about you? Just my thoughts …

Pastor Jerry

Leave a Reply

