Fearful? Not Me!

“I sought the LORD, and he heard me, and delivered me from all my fears.” Psalm 34.4

No matter how many times I read this Psalm and especially this verse, I am refreshed, reminded, and rebuked. “How so?” you ask. I am refreshed by the knowledge that my Heavenly Father hears me when I pray. Obviously He cannot hear me if I am not praying. It is ESSENTIAL that I “seek the Lord” and when I DO pray, He hears me. This also reminds me of His goodness to me, His love for me, and His interest in my life. I need to stop at this point and ask myself the question: “Am I only seeking God for what He DOES for me, or am I seeking God for WHO He is to me?” There must be an overwhelming acknowledgment on my part that WHO God is to me is of far greater significance that WHAT He does for me.
Now about that word “rebuked.” How many times am I “fearful” simply because I refuse to permit God to “deliver” me from all my fears? Funny thing about fear – it seems to keep screaming in my mind, “What are you going to DO about this?” When in reality, as soon as i give that fear to God, that screaming goes away, because “I” don’t have to do anything about it. It is now in God’s hands. I want THIS verse (and its truth) to be so entrenched in my heart and mind that when “fear” wants to take over, my FIRST reaction is to immediately hand that fear over to God. He already sees THROUGH the circumstance that created the fear and He already knows what HE is going to do about it. He was simply waiting for me to “let go” and “let Him” take control. I don’t know about you, but that seems to be pretty liberating to me. I think I will choose to live THIS day in light of Psalm 34.4. Just my thoughts …

Pastor Jerry

Leave a Reply

