Integrity? Really? Really!

“And as for me, thou upholdest me in mine integrity, and settest me before thy face for ever.” Psalm 41.12

Integrity is one of those words to which almost everyone has his own definition. It is an “intangible” something that we know when we see it. It is also something that we recognize when it is not present. One dictionary gives this definition:“The quality of being honest and having strong moral principles.” Some synonyms are honesty, good character, virtue, righteousness. Whatever other flaws we may have in our lives, may we not let the absence of integrity be one of them. I should be the same person in public that I am in private. I should “speak the truth in love” no matter who the crowd is that I am with. If I give my word, I should keep it – no matter the cost of doing so. If I make a mistake, I must be man enough to admit that mistake and apologize. That does not make me a weak leader. It makes me a leader with integrity. We read these words in 1 Peter 3.16-17: “Having a good conscience; that, whereas they speak evil of you, as of evildoers, they may be ashamed that falsely accuse your good conversation in Christ. (17) For it is better, if the will of God be so, that ye suffer for well doing, than for evil doing.” I NEVER want my “integrity” to be in question – whether I am a leader in ministry or I am just some ordinary servant of Christ involved in His work. If we ever needed an incentive to maintain our integrity, it is found in this statement: “thou … settest me before thy face forever.” I do not serve God in a vacuum. I am right there “before (His) face for ever.” He is always watching, even if I think no one else is. Just my thoughts …

Pastor Jerry

Leave a Reply

