Don’t Give Up!

“And let us not be weary in well doing: for in due season we shall reap, if we faint not.” Galatians 6.9

In a world where instant gratification is the order of the day, those of us who are Christ-followers often seem to think that if no one recognizes what we did for the Lord, then we are unappreciated. Paul’s words here in Galatians sets those feelings to rest. “Well doing” is something that should flow from a heart filled with love for the One who redeemed us. If our ONLY reason for serving is so that someone will take notice and give us a pat on the back, then our motive is wrong. I know that everyone wants to be appreciated – I get that. But Paul’s words lead us to focus on that “due season” that is to come in God’s time. If no one EVER knows anything that we do for the Lord, if we never receive public kudos because of service for Christ, that must never deter us from having a servant’s heart that serves because of our love for the Lord, not what others say about it.
Look at these words: “we shall reap, if we faint not.” The phrase “faint not” can also be translated “do not give up.” We cannot possibly imagine what the phrase “we shall reap” means. Only God knows what He has in store for His children. I can guarantee this – it will be unlike anything that man can manufacture down here. When I think of the words “do not give up,” I see so many of God’s children who speak only in the past tense: “Let me tell you what I used to do here at church” or “I remember back in the time when I _______ (you fill in the blank)” and that is their only focus. As long as I have breath, and strength enough to get up and move around, there are things I can do. And when I can no longer “do” things, i can still be a prayer warrior. God’s church needs prayer warriors who will regularly go to the throne of grace on behalf of those we KNOW who have specific needs – needs that only God can meet. There is power in prayer and there is much power in much prayer. Pray on! Just my thoughts …

Pastor Jerry

Leave a Reply

