Guard the Supply Line

“I the LORD search the heart, I try the reins, even to give every man according to his ways, and according to the fruit of his doings.” Jeremiah 17.10

Are you CAPTURED by the phrase, “I the LORD search the heart …”? I am. Just about the time my flesh has almost convinced me that I can pretty much do what I want or think what I want, I am reminded that “I the LORD search the heart …” That is a “wake up call” to change the focus of the moment. I believe far too many of us are guilty of something Dr. Bob Jones Sr. warned us about when he said, “Don’t sacrifice the PERMANENT on the altar of the IMMEDIATE.” Our culture – even our spiritual culture – seems to have grown so fond of instant gratification that we may miss some of God’s warning signs in our daily journey.
Look carefully at the words in this next phrase: “ … to give every man ACCORDING to his ways, and ACCORDING to the fruit of his doings.” If fruit, that which is external, comes as a result of what is found inside the body, then a diseased supply line will produce diseased fruit. This verse links our “ways” and “the fruit of our doings” together. I want to live with the constant realization that the LORD is searching my heart and testing my mind. That will allow me to give the control of my HEART to God’s Spirit, so that my “ways” and “the fruit of my doings” will be pleasing to Him. Any thing other than TOTAL surrender will render this spiritual lifestyle impossible. “With men this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.” (Matthew 19.26) Just my thoughts …

Pastor Jerry

Leave a Reply

