He IS Lord!

“And the LORD shall be king over all the earth: in that day shall there be one LORD, and his name one.” Zechariah 14.9

Our world seems to be running headlong away from God and toward destruction. As the Bible says in a number of places, “Every man did that which was right in his own eyes.” I remember a conversation with a man some years ago while I was visiting in his home. I began to talk about God and his need for a Savior, and he looked at me with a martini in one hand, and thumped his chest and said boldly, “I don’t need God. I am my own God.” I believe there are far more people than we know who make such a statement under their breath, failing to recognize the God of heaven.
Zechariah states, “And the LORD shall be king over all the earth …” Failure to recognize that truth does not make it go away any more than refusing to acknowledge gravity negates that force if I jump off the roof of my house. God IS the LORD and one day EVERY knee shall bow and EVERY tongue shall confess that HE IS LORD to the glory of God the Father. Here is the challenge for us today. Are we WILLING to live THIS DAY as though He is ALREADY Lord of our lives? Claiming that He is our Lord and living as though He is actually our Lord are two separate things. There is a song whose words go something like this: “What you are speaks so loud that the world can’t hear what you say. They’re looking at your walk not listening to your talk.” Let’s make it a determined element of our focus today to give God His rightful place in our hearts. THEN what we say will match how we walk. Just My Thoughts  …

Pastor Jerry

Leave a Reply

