God’s Got This!

“Behold, God is mine helper: the Lord is with them that uphold my soul.” Psalm 54.4

Sometimes you read a verse and think, “Wow. I bet that could be a blessing to someone.” And then there are times when you read a verse and think: “Wow, that is exactly what I needed to hear from God today!” This verse above is that verse for me today: “Behold, God is my helper …” In 50+ years of ministry, I have stood beside families as they have been asked to do the impossible – unhook all life support for a loved one. God was there with us! I have heard moms and dads cry out, “This isn’t fair. I raised my child right. Why did they do this?” And God was there with us. I have watched families – literally on the steps of the funeral home – as they argued over who would get what from “the estate” and then walk away so angry they don’t want to see family any more. And God was there with us!
There are so many verses that we spiritual leaders tell those following us: “You just need to believe God. He’s got this!” And then God says, “Ok, you told everybody else I’ve got this. What about you? Do you believe I’ve got this?” And the answer is, “Yes. God’s got this!” What’s this? I heard my doctor say, “You have colon cancer.” He went on to explain what would be happening in the days ahead. He was shaking my hand and I said to him, “So doc, heads I win and tails I win.” He looked at me with this puzzled look – gripped my hand tightly and walked out. But that was the moment when Psalm 54.4 was real: “Behold, God is my helper.” Is He your helper? Just My Thoughts  …

Pastor Jerry

Leave a Reply

