Savor Every Word

“Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly in all wisdom; teaching and admonishing one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing with grace in your hearts to the Lord. ” Colossians 3.16

Sometimes when I read a verse, I try to put myself in the place of those to whom it was written. Here Paul is writing the Colossian Christians. What was he telling them with this phrase: “let the word of Christ dwell in you richly in all wisdom”? I can’t possibly know what that was supposed to mean to them, but what does it mean to you and me? I believe he is saying that we need to SAVOR every word that was spoken to us from God and to allow those words to create within us a wisdom that is NOT of this world, but is uniquely something from God. Having God’s wisdom allows me to see the circumstances of my life and the people who interact with me from a different perspective. I believe God wants us to view our circumstances as divine appointments. It is easy to grow disgusted with circumstances we do not or cannot understand. But if God has allowed them, then they really ARE divine appointments. In order for us to “teach and admonish” anyone, we need to have such a close walk with God that His every whisper is heard and acted on.
Let’s not get caught up in regularly challenging God when we don’t immediately understand something that has happened. But rather, let us quickly embrace what God sends with this question: “Lord, what’s in this for me to learn?” In light of God’s all-encompassing omniscience, you and I are much wiser when we partner with God in the learning process instead of hoping to “just get through this” so we can get on with something we want to do. Give God the benefit of the doubt. He ALWAYS has your best interests at heart. Just My Thoughts  …

Pastor Jerry

2 thoughts on “Savor Every Word

Leave a Reply

