Let Him BE Who He Is!

“ As for God, his way is perfect: the word of the LORD is tried: he is a buckler to all those that trust in him.” Psalm 18.30

Some years ago this verse became one of my “favorites.” We all have them – verses we go to for encouragement, or direction, or some other uncertainty in life. Unfortunately, like many of you, I kept this verse as a “theoretical” truth that I kept in my head, but never allowed my heart to embrace it fully. When we examine these words, they drive us to a place of absolute surrender – EVERYTHING God does is perfect. Since that is true, then I must begin evaluating my life in light of what God is seeking to accomplish. Because His purpose for me and my own purpose for me may be miles apart, I must determine to see that “his way” is and find my contentment there.
These next two phrases are equally important. (1) the word of the LORD is tried. If something is “tried” it has been examined over a period of time and has been found to be trustworthy. God’s Word certainly fits this idea. (2) he is a buckler to all those that trust in him.” A “buckler” is a piece of armor used by a person in battle. God certainly qualifies as my “buckler” in any struggles I may face in this life. When I plug my life into this verse now, I become instantly aware that God doesn’t need to explain what He is doing in my life. I am called upon to trust Him, (1) because His way is perfect, (2) His Word is tried, and (3) He is my buckler – my protector. Just My Thoughts  …

Leave a Reply

