Time Is Precious – Guard It Well!

“Make no friendship with an angry man; and with a furious man thou shalt not go: (25) Lest thou learn his ways, and get a snare to thy soul.” Proverbs 22.24-25

The longer I live, the more I encounter people who have a “built-in” anger that never goes away. When you speak to them, the words that come out of their mouths may be TRUE, but they are so HURTFUL it is difficult to process them. What little bit I know about anger continually reminds me that “anger is a choice.” That simply means that I must CHOOSE to be angry – either with someone or with some circumstance that is past. IF it is a CHOICE to be angry (and it is), then we also have the CHOICE of choosing NOT to be angry. Solomon’s words here are words of caution, to be sure: “make NO friendship with an angry man …” If I spend my time around NEGATIVE people, before long I find myself THINKING like they think their negativity has rubbed off on me The same is true if we choose to spend our time around angry people. Solomon tells us that there is a consequence when we choose to spend our time with angry people. That consequence is that I will “get a snare to (my) soul.” I have enough trouble keeping my soul unencumbered with the cares of life itself. I certainly don’t need to allow someone else to contribute to the process.
Let me encourage you today to make wise choices for the use of your time. Ask the Lord to give you wisdom in discerning where and  how to spend your time. Just My Thoughts  …

Leave a Reply

