Sinners NEED Redemption!

“For all have sinned, and come short of the glory of God; (24) Being justified freely by his grace through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus:” Romans 3.23-24

Have you ever talked to someone who did not think he or she was a sinner. it quickly becomes an interesting conversation. To them sin is characterized by what some would call the “big and bad things” – like murder, robbery, and so on. Since they claim to never have done any of these things, they are not sinners. But the words here of the Apostle Paul are unequivocal when he states: “ALL have sinned …” If I am unwilling to acknowledge the first statement as truth, I am in no position to claim what is promised next: “”Being justified free by HIS grace …” The truth of the matter is that I cannot “justify” myself about anything. If I am not justified FREELY by His grace, I am not justified at all.
Let us consider this last statement Paul makes: “through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus.” What does it mean to “redeem” something? One of the meanings is “to absolve from blame.” When Jesus Christ “redeemed” us, He absolved us from the blame associated with our sin. Even though I am GUILTY of my sin, I will NEVER have to pay the price for my sin – because He did it for me. THAT is genuine REDEMPTION! May we revel in the truth that even though we ARE sinners, we are REDEEMED “freely by His grace through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus.” Just My Thoughts  …

Leave a Reply

