First Things First!

“But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.” Matthew 6.33

You must determine in your life what if would look like if you decided to “seek FIRST the kingdom of God …” I know what it doesn’t mean. It doesn’t mean that I quote Bible verses all the time and I pray in King James English. It doesn’t mean that I spend great amounts of time trying to impress others how spiritual I am. Could it be that seeking FIRST the kingdom of God suggests that I CEASE fashioning all my days on what I want to do and I give God’s Holy Spirit the freedom He ought to have to show me my next step for God? Why would I want to see God’s righteousness? It might show the world around me that I am serious about the one I call my God and I want His ways for me to be what I long for and leave the outcome with Him.
What does Jesus mean when He says “all these things shall be added unto you”? It appears the disciples had been overly concerned about some daily provisions. Here is v. 25: “Therefore I say unto you, Take no thought for your life, what ye shall eat, or what ye shall drink; nor yet for your body, what ye shall put on. Is not the life more than meat, and the body than raiment?“ If we will take care of the things that pertain to His kingdom, He will see to it that out “daily needs” are met. I choose to accept the truth that He knows more about what I need that I do, so I can leave it all to Him. Just My Thoughts  …

Leave a Reply

