Courage Is NOT the Absence of Fear, But Action in the Face of Fear

“Have not I commanded thee? Be strong and of a good courage; be not afraid, neither be thou dismayed: for the LORD thy God is with thee whithersoever thou goest.” Joshua 1.9

God was in intimate conversation with His servant, Joshua. Which one of us would not be afraid to take the leadership of 2 million people – people who were vocal and not afraid to speak their minds? He could remember the times they had turned on Moses. Now these were words come from God as a COMMAND, not a suggestion. Observe God’s words: (1) Be strong, (2) be of good courage; (3) be not afraid, (4) neither be thou dismayed. I don’t know about you, but THAT is a pretty powerful statement from God’s mouth. You may be thinking, “That was good for Joshua, but I am not where he was in his spiritual walk.” That may be the case, but there will the times when you must take a stand for the Lord and all you can mumble under your breath, “I can’t do this.” God NEVER commands us to do ANYTHING that He does not give us the power to complete. You come back, “Well, that may work for you, but it just has never worked for me.” Look at the last line of this verse – Joshua tells us what makes the work: “for the LORD thy God is with thee whithersoever thou goest.” I don’t want to be guilty of saying to God, “I know you are with me, but I just can’t do this.” Joshua had the Word of God with them. He also had His power that was available. Every time we fail, we can look in the mirror and ask ourselves, “WHY didn’t I TRUST God! He has NEVER FAILED ME. He has filled me with His Word, and He has left His power so that I might fulfill His Word. The only thing left to do is JUST DO IT! (Thank you Nike!) Just My Thoughts  …

Leave a Reply

