Better Watch Out!

“There hath no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it.” 1 Corinthians 10.13

I don’t think most of us really believe this verse. Why would I say that? Because when we get caught in responding to temptation in our lives, what is the first thing we say? “I couldn’t help myself.” Now if God always tells the truth, then someone here is lying and trying to shift the blame. Yes, temptation is common – it comes to each of us, perhaps in different forms, but it still comes. Paul’s next phrase is the one to which we need to take heed: “ … but God IS faithful …”  This phrase, “God is faithful” is crucial to understanding the full conditions of what God has promised: (1) He will NOT suffer me to be tempted above that I am able to bear, (2) He will with the temptation make a way to escape, (3) that I may be able to bear it.
The question then becomes, “Do I WANT to escape it?” You know that your hotspot for being tempted isn’t the same as someone else’s. God knows it and Satan knows it too. It doesn’t matter HOW he tempts others. The key thing is do you KNOW how he tempts you? Once you have identified his method, then you can be on the lookout for his next attack. The question is NOT “will he attack me again,” but rather, “When will he attack me again and am I ready to look for God’s way of escape?” Your attitude toward Satan’s attack is everything. If you WANT to escape, you CAN. If you approach temptation with a careless spirit, thinking you can handle it, you won’t. Watch Out! Just My Thoughts  …

Leave a Reply

