Your FOCUS Is Where?

“If ye then be risen with Christ, seek those things which are above, where Christ sitteth on the right hand of God. (2) Set your affection on things above, not on things on the earth.” Colossians 3.1-2

This is one of those passages that I need to come back to and refresh my memory about who I am in Christ and the life I should live because of who I am in Christ. Paul starts with a simple premise: “If ye then be risen with Christ … “ Every believer is “risen with Christ”. This is Paul’s way of affirming that the Colossians are who they say they are. As one who is “risen with Christ”, my FIRST instruction is this: “seek those things which are above …” While that SOUNDS easy, you and I know it is NOT. In order for me to shift my focus from things down here to things above, I must take SELF off the throne and allow Christ to occupy that place in my life. Follow these words in your mind: “seek those things which are above, where Christ sits … “
In v. 2 Paul continues his instruction: “Set your AFFECTION (that part of you that loves) on things above … “ It seems to me that sometimes I drive my tent pegs so deep down here that it is hard to even THINK about “things above”. I am too busy protecting my “stuff.” But it is just that – STUFF. In order to set my affections on things above, I must look BEYOND the daily (sometimes minute-by-minute) seduction that Satan offers me down here. I must see that my home is in eternity – not in time – therefore it is far wiser to invest my time and energy on things that will matter in eternity. The souls of men matter. The decisions that I make to live for Christ matter. The willingness to flee temptation and cling to Christ matter. I never know who is watching, so I dare not allow Satan’s seductions to take my attention off “things above.” That is MY choice – not his. May we allow God’s Spirit to help us today to FOCUS on “things above.” Just My Thoughts  …

Leave a Reply

