Let Your HOPE Shine!

“But sanctify the Lord God in your hearts: and be ready always to give an answer to every man that asketh you a reason of the hope that is in you with meekness and fear:” 1 Peter 3.15

Every time I read the words that Peter writes, my mind goes back to that loud-mouthed fisherman who said to the Lord, “Let’s build three tabernacles ….” I ask myself, “Is this the same guy?” and the answer is “Yes and no!” Peter is a wonderful reminder that we must never be help captive by our past.
Let’s focus now on the words he wrote here in 1 Peter: “Sanctify the Lord God in your hearts …” Does that seem like a strange phrase to you? What is he REALLY saying? We know the word “sanctify” means “to set apart.” It is proper for us to separate the Lord in our hearts from all the other “junk” that is there and put Him where He belongs – on the throne of my life. Then we come to “be ready always to give an answer to every man that asks you … “ Far too many believers stumble at this point. I can’t count how many times I have hear a believer say, “I can’t do that.” Or “What if they ask me a question I can’t answer?” God isn’t asking you to answer every hard question associated with the Bible. He is asking you to give an answer about “the hope that is in you …” The words “hope” and “heaven” go together. WHY do you HOPE to go to heaven? If the answer is anything other than “through the shed blood of Jesus,” it’s the wrong answer. That is where my hope lies.
But look at this last phrase: “with meekness and fear.” When someone asks about your hope, don’t be arrogant or flippant in your answer. I had someone tell me one time, “You Christians sure are cocky about going to heaven.” I apologized quickly and let him know that my confidence was in Christ, not in myself. Let’s answer prayerfully, carefully, with a humble spirit, and with confidence. Just My Thoughts  …

Leave a Reply

