Ultimate Safety!

“Be merciful unto me, O God, be merciful unto me: for my soul trusteth in thee: yea, in the shadow of thy wings will I make my refuge, until these calamities be overpast.” Psalm 57.1

There are some days when I awake that I think I have things pretty well under control. Other days when I awake, I wonder about everything since nothing seems to be under my control. Then I read this verse: “Be merciful unto me, O God, be merciful unto me: for my soul trusteth in thee”. What great comfort I derive from the truth that I can come to God and cry out for mercy. His goodness is only exceeded by His grace. The words “my soul trusts in thee” help me realize that when there is no one else in whom I can trust, I CAN trust in Him.
I love the phrase “in the shadow of thy wings I will make my refuge …” You may or may not have seen a mother hen gather her chicks under her wings when she senses their may be danger. She will give her life to protect those baby chicks. My heavenly Father has far greater power than that mother hen and when I am “in the shadow of his wings,” nothing can reach me there. It then becomes my responsibility not to run from that place of ultimate protection.
Notice the phrase: “until these calamities be overpast.” They WILL pass. My protection – your protection – will be there until “these calamities be overpast.” What  great encouragement. The faithfulness of God is NOT dependent on my faithfulness to Him. He can be nothing less that who He is. Just My Thoughts  …

Leave a Reply

