Who’s In Charge Anyway?

“The LORD is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? the LORD is the strength of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?” Psalm 27.1

One of the reasons I find such great encouragement in the Psalms is that those who are writing (David, Asaph, etc) are dealing with very real problems and they are not saying, “Look at me. I’ve got life all figured out.” They are turning their hearts to God, and that is what we should be doing also. If anyone ever had occasion to fear, it was David – multiple times in his life. All of us, if we are honest, fear the unknown. So, David’s first statement shows us that he has things in proper perspective: “The LORD is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear?” “What is that perspective?” you ask. If God is his light, then everything that is coming David’s way is already known to God. If God is his salvation, then no matter WHAT comes, God is his deliverer and protector. When you and I are willing to look at life in the same manner, “whom shall (we) fear?”
This next phrase David speaks is every encouraging too: “the LORD is the strength of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?” If God is David’s strength, then whatever battle comes his way, God’s strength is more than enough to win that battle. I know there are some things in life of which we should be afraid, but when it comes to battles of the flesh against the spirit of evil, we do well to send God to fight that battle for every time. Let God be your LIGHT, your SALVATION, and your STRENGTH today. He’s Got This! Just My Thoughts …

Leave a Reply

