Watch It!

“If I regard iniquity in my heart, the Lord will not hear me: (19) But verily God hath heard me; he hath attended to the voice of my prayer.” Psalm 66.18-19

What do you think the psalmist is saying here? What does it mean to “regard iniquity” in your heart? “Regard” means to consider or think about. “Iniquity” is  trouble, vanity, wickedness. So, to “regard iniquity in my heart” is to CONSIDER or THINK ABOUT trouble, vanity, wickedness. If we are honest, we will admit that there ARE times when we CONSIDER these things. Since we know God’s Holy Spirit does not inspire these things, the only other conclusion must be that Satan is their author. The consequence of this behavior is that “the Lord will NOT hear me:”
Notice the difference is how the two verses start: v. 18: “if”; v. 19: “But”. “But” what? “verily (truly) God has heard me …” In order for the psalmist to make this second declaration, he must have corrected the problem stated in v. 18. The same is true for us. If we want God to hear and respond to us, we must deal with any “iniquity” in our heart. There is no “half-and-half” situation here. We cannot say, “Well. this isn’t so bad. God will understand.” God DOES understand and He “will not hear (us).”
The last phrase is v. 19 states: “he hath attended to the voice of my prayer.” Amen! Once the heart is “right”, God responds to our “voice of prayer” and the answer is WHAT we need, WHEN we need it and it is ALWAYS enough. Just My Thoughts  …

Leave a Reply

