Embrace His Love!

“The LORD hath appeared of old unto me, saying, Yea, I have loved thee with an everlasting love: therefore with lovingkindness have I drawn thee.” Jeremiah 31.3

After working with people in public ministry for over 56 years, I am still amazed at how many people struggle with believing that God loves them. One of the problems stems from not loving ourselves. By that I mean that so many are unwilling to accept the fact that God made them just they way they are and He doesn’t make mistakes and He doesn’t create junk. If that statement is true (and it is), then you and I need to embrace the words of Jeremiah here. Some would say, “But Pastor, that is an Old Testament verse and it doesn’t apply to me. It is for Israel. Here is a simple truth for us to learn … in the Old Testament Israel was God’s chosen people. In the New Testament the church is God’s chosen bride. So when God says, “I have loved thee with an everlasting love”, it is OK for me to believe that He loves ME that way too.
God’s love for you and me is not based on WHAT we do, but on WHO we are. It is not my PERFORMANCE that counts, but my PERSONHOOD – that fact that I am His. We need to stop pushing God away because we don’t think He loves us and begin embracing this “everlasting love” that is mentioned in this verse. I create a false mindset and thereby a miserable day if I am unwilling to accept and embrace God’s everlasting love. If I want my day to be joyful and filled with His peace, I must ALLOW Him to love me and live in such a way that others KNOW that I am loved by God. Just My Thoughts  …

Leave a Reply

