Give God a Chance!

“Behold, God is my salvation; I will trust, and not be afraid: for the LORD JEHOVAH is my strength and my song; he also is become my salvation.” Isaiah 12.2

Early this morning I read this verse and my heart was filled to overflowing. This short chapter of just 4 verses is a continual rehearsal to God’s people that they are His and He cares for them; Look carefully at the words the Holy Spirit chooses to encourage us: (1) God is my salvation; (2) I will trust and not be afraid; (3) the LORD JEHOVAH is my strength and song; and (4) he also is become my salvation. On any bad day, any one of these would certainly float my boat. But to put them all together is certainly a welcomed blessing. Let’s look at these individually.
Two times in this verse Isaiah attributes his salvation to God … in the opening phrase and in the closing phrase. You may be wondering why this is such a big deal. Isaiah grew up in the court of King Uzziah. Uzziah was his hero. In Isaiah 6.1 we read: “In the year that king Uzziah died I saw also the Lord sitting upon a throne, high and lifted up, and his train filled the temple.” God took Isaiah’s hero so he could see the Lord. He is different from this point forward. The next phrase captures Isaiah’s absolute trust in God: “I will trust, and not be afraid.” Realizing we are in God’s presence is the only truth that will chase away fear.
Then Isaiah shows us his heart: “The LORD JEHOVAH is my strength and my song”. Who is YOUR strength? Who gives you a song in your heart? Give the LORD JEHOVAH the opportunity to be to you who He was to Isaiah. Just My Thoughts …

Leave a Reply

