Let Him Help!

“Likewise the Spirit also helpeth our infirmities: for we know not what we should pray for as we ought: but the Spirit itself maketh intercession for us with groanings which cannot be uttered.” Romans 8.26

What a great phrase: “the Spirit … helpeth our infirmities … “ Think about that … the God of the universe, in the person of His Holy Spirit, chooses to help us with our infirmities. It doesn’t matter WHAT that infirmity is, God wants to help. How foolish would we be to refuse God’s help? I know for my own life, there are times when my infirmities seem overwhelming, but God … God is there with the precise help that I need. When we read the second phrase, most of us can identify with it: “we know not what we should pray for as we ought”. How do we pray when we don’t know WHAT or HOW to pray? For me, I wait on God’s Spirit to give me direction. Sometimes it is more important that I am silent and wait on God than it is for me to try to fill my prayer time with words that are generalizations about life in general.
“… the Spirit Himself makes intercession for us … “ When God’s Spirit connects with my spirit and brings me into the presence of the Almighty, not only am I humbled, but I begin to see things I had not seen before and I begin to see the help I need for my “infirmities.” God does not HIDE what I need but He waits for me to come in the right  manner – in this case through His Spirit. It is far better for the Spirit to intercede for me than to attempt to explain what I cannot explain to God.
One of the secrets to prayer is to learn when to speak and when to be silent.I am still in the learning curve on this. Let me encourage to take full advantage of the Spirit’s help in your prayer life. You will be the richer for it. Just my thoughts …

Leave a Reply

