I Trust God – Really?

“He that dwelleth in the secret place of the most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty. (2) I will say of the LORD, He is my refuge and my fortress: my God; in him will I trust.” Psalm 91.1-2

The words of verse 2 are only made possible in the mind of the psalmist because of his conclusion found in v. 1. He concludes that the safest place to be when there is trouble, or an adversary, or something else that he cannot handle, is “under the shadow of the Almighty.” The terms he uses in v. 2 are very descriptive and powerful. He describes God as his “refuge” and his “fortress.” A “refuge” is a place to hide when trouble is coming – whether it is an event or an adversary. A “fortress” is a place of safety when trying to fight off the enemy.
The next two words seal the confidence of the psalmist when he says, “my God …” Would it be fair for me to ask each one reading this, “Who is YOUR God?” Sometimes we use God’s name but the One that we have picture in our minds looks nothing like the God of whom the psalmist speaks. Do you view your God as your “refuge” and your “fortress”? Have your grown in your walk with Him to such a degree that you CAN say, “my God” and your image of God resembles the psalmist’t God?
Now let’s look at the final phrase: “in Him will I trust.” Most adults would agree that trust is something that must be built over time. In a marriage, when trust is broken by either partner, it takes a considerable amount of time to rebuild that bridge. But when it comes to God, our trust is built over time as we learn to trust Him more and more. He has NEVER done anything to break our trust, but it takes us time to see Him show Himself trustworthy time-after-time. Let me encourage you today to see God the way the psalmist has seen Him in these verses and exercise your trust in Him to such a degree that if He doesn’t show up, you fail. Just my thoughts …

2 thoughts on “I Trust God – Really?

  1. Great post! This challenges me. I’ve been writing this question in my devotional notes too … I know the answer, I wish I could say I trust God implicitly. Praying that God will help me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

