Waiting Puts God in Charge!

“Wait on the LORD: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart: wait, I say, on the LORD.” Psalm 27.14

Waiting on the LORD has taken on new meaning at this stage in my life. I am aware that no one ever waited on the Lord in vain. I am aware that waiting on the Lord means that I must wait on His timing and not my own when it comes to the future. Waiting on the Lord is quickly becoming a daily practice of allowing God to do what HE wants in my life and relegating my “own agenda” to a place of non-importance. What I want for me will never be as important as what He wants for me. If you are following my train of thought, I hope you are noticing that the transfer of control, the issue of what is best, and the matter of absolute trust have moved to the forefront of my life and I am CONTENT with waiting on the Lord.
The psalmist mentions two other key thoughts here: (1) be of good courage, and (2) he shall strengthen thine heart. I am reminded of God’s words to Joshua in Joshua 1.6: “Be strong and of a good courage:” EVERYTHING in Joshua’s life was changing and God knew He needed to encourage His servant. These words “he shall strengthen thine heart” speak volumes to me. If I thought about everything that I can imagine that could go wrong, I could literally worry myself into a distraught state of mind. But when I allow God to control EVERYTHING – and I mean EVERYTHING – I am total peace in placing my present and my future in His hands and my heart is “strengthened” by that.
How hard is it for you to wait on the Lord? Are you afraid He may not know exactly what is best for you? Don’t challenge His omniscience! As the psalmist said above, “wait, I say, on the LORD.” Just my thoughts …

Leave a Reply

