Praise Requires 2 Things!

“I will praise thee with uprightness of heart, when I shall have learned thy righteous judgments.” Psalm 119.7

The strength and depth of this verse is found in realizing what the Psalmist is saying.I really like the ESV translation of this verse: “I will praise you with an upright heart, when I learn your righteous rules.” This begs the question: “What is an upright heart?” The dictionary tells us an upright heart is: “strictly honorable or honest”. So, let’s take a moment and ask ourselves if we HAVE an upright heart toward God – a heart that is honorable and honest? The only way to know the answer is to examine ourselves carefully in light of what we know God expects of us. Think about your attitudes toward Him – are they honorable? Are you honestly wondering if God really knows best because from your perspective things could get a lot better and you are wondering when it will happen? Are you wondering if God’s love for you is unconditional because at this moment you don’t FEEL loved at all by Him? Those attitudes, while real, are not honorable toward because you think it is possible for God to be wrong on some things.
The last phrase of the verse speaks to our responsibility regarding God’s righteous judgments (rules). You may be thinking, “How in the world do I learn all the “rules”? The short answer is in reading God’s Word. The long answer is that I need a regular time alone with God so that I can be reminded daily what rules are and then how to apply them to MY life. It doesn’t matter what someone else does with God’s rules. What matters is what I do with them. In order for me to really “praise” God, I MUST have an upright heart and I MUST know His righteous rules. These are MY responsibilities – not His! Just my thoughts …

Leave a Reply

