How Much Are You Absorbing?

“O taste and see that the LORD is good: blessed is the man that trusteth in him.” Psalm 34.8

This powerful psalm speaks to us in so many ways. By the time we get to v. 8, it is time to pay close attention to what the psalmist is saying. “Taste and see that the LORD is good … “ How do we “taste” and see that the LORD is good? In order to taste something, I need to absorb the essence of it into my being. When you spend time with the Lord, how much of that experience do you absorb? Can you remember what it was that you spoke with God about or does it just escape you and is never remembered again? If so, nothing was absorbed.
When I look at a cherry pie that my wife has made, I don’t WONDER if it is “good” – I know before I taste it that it is going to be good and I can hardly wait to absorb it into my body. You and I know that “the LORD is good.” How do we know? Because of past experiences in our walk with Him. We must look forward to our next time alone with God and “taste and see that” He is good.
“Blessed is the man that TRUSTETH in him.” If we want to be blessed BY God, we must learn TO trust Him without question. Lingering somewhere in the back of our minds is the question of whether we can ALWAYS trust God. That question must be expelled from our heart and mind, and we must give God full access to our lives and trust level must be without limits. Just my thoughts …

Leave a Reply

