Where Does God Fit?

“I have set the LORD always before me: because he is at my right hand, I shall not be moved. (9) Therefore my heart is glad, and my glory rejoiceth: my flesh also shall rest in hope.” Psalm 16.8-9

There is so much in these two verses to absorb and apply and reflect upon. The first step is mine: (1) “I have set the LORD always before me …” We need to be careful where we place the LORD in our daily agenda. You say, ‘But I don’t have an agenda.” Sure you do. You may not write it down but you have one. And even if you simply “fly by the seat of your pants,” YOU decide what is important and what comes next. So, YOU decide where God is on your agenda. (2) “He is at my right hand …” When things are spoken of as being at our right hand, it is usually so we can have immediate access to them. So, realizing that God IS at your right hand, doesn’t mean that He is available for immediate access when you need Him? I certainly believe that is the case. Now look” (3) “I shall not be moved.” Do we grasp the significance of that truth? If movement comes, it will not be God that moves, but it will be you and me. There must NEVER be occasions when we PURPOSELY chose to move away from God.
Now, v. 9: (4) “Therefore …” I read once in a commentary that when you see the word “therefore,” you need to see what it is there for. Why does the psalmist have a glad heart? Because God is at his right hand and he (the psalmist) will not be moved. (5) my heart is glad; and my glory rejoiceth …” Gladness and rejoicing go together. When the heart is glad, it is much easier for the spirit to rejoice. (My spirit is the seat of my glory.) (6) “my flesh shall ALSO rest in hope.” This word HOPE occurs in the KJV no less than 114 times. I would say that it is a significant word in the Bible. How does one “rest in hope”? In the Word of God, the use of the word hope does not speak of any uncertainty. Quite the contrary, hope means it is good as done. Why would we NOT rest in hope? May God help us TODAY to allow the words of Psalm 166.8-9 resonate through our spirit and encourage us. Just my thoughts …

Leave a Reply

