I SAW Him – Believe Me!

“And we have seen and do testify that the Father sent the Son to be the Saviour of the world. (15) Whosoever shall confess that Jesus is the Son of God, God dwelleth in him, and he in God. ” 1 John 4.14-15

John’s words here in 1 John carry so much weight for us. He is attempting to correct the false beliefs that were being propagated. Notice his words here in v. 15: “we have seen and do testify …” John is saying, “I am not talking theory here. I have SEEN Him and my words are the words of an EYE WITNESS.” An eyewitness tells what he KNOWS, not what he thinks. So, John’s testimony was, “the Father sent the Son to be the Saviour of the world.” As he stood at the foot of the cross of Jesus, he heard the words, “it is finished!”  and then Jesus dismissed His spirit into the hands of His Father. John, along with Peter SAW the empty tomb. Actually, John saw the empty tomb before Peter got there. So, he saw Jesus die and he witnessed the empty tomb and soon after they saw the risen Christ in the Upper Room.
As the result of what he SAW, John can assert with confidence: “Whosoever shall confess that Jesus is the Son of God, God dwelleth in him, and he in God.” Why would ANYONE not want to acknowledge that Jesus IS the Son of God? Denying that truth does not make it untrue. If I decide to jump off a ten story building shouting that I don’t believe in gravity, when I hot the ground ten stories later, I am dead, because the law of gravity works whether I want to believe it or not. LOOK at this: “God dwells in US …” Why would the Creator of the universe want to dwell in me? Only one reason – because He loves me! Why did God send Jesus to die for me? Only one reason – because He loves me! Let’s live THIS DAY knowing God lives in us and we also live in Him! Undeniable truth! Just my thoughts …

Leave a Reply

