Turn Him Loose!

“He that believeth on me, as the scripture hath said, out of his belly shall flow rivers of living water.” John 7.38

As I write these words this morning, I am humbled by the number of people who take time to read them. The words that I write must speak to me before I can put them on the screen. Jesus’ words here strike a chord of relationship between His followers and Himself: “He that believeth on me … “ Remember the time when you stopped just believing ABOUT Jesus and began believing ON Jesus? I do. The transformation is still real today.
Then Jesus said, “as the scripture hath said, out of his belly shall flow rivers of living water.” LIVING WATER! What a wonderful description of the Holy Spirit at work within us.  Do you sense a feeling of excitement when the Holy Spirit gives you direction or energizes you for a task God has given you to do? The Longer I walk with the Lord, the more thrilling it is to allow myself to be totally yielded to Him so that He can use me as a vessel for His service. I don’t have to manufacture some false feeling that makes me look like God is doing something in my life. Just to allow Him total control is all that I need to do. That daily surrender is a voluntary act on my part that gives God access to my heart – that part of me that controls my will, my emotions, my attitude and ultimately my behavior.
What changes, if any, need to occur in your life to allow the “rivers of living water” to flow from your life? We often times know but are unwilling to take the necessary steps. Just my thoughts …

Leave a Reply

