His Power, His Mercy Are for Us!

“But I will sing of thy power; yea, I will sing aloud of thy mercy in the morning: for thou hast been my defence and refuge in the day of my trouble.” Psalm 59.16

I recall the words of a song I heard some time ago. They went something like this: “You can have a song in your heart in the night … “ The psalmist said, “I will sing of thy power … I will sing aloud of thy mercy … “ When your heart breaks out in song, what is the theme of your song? Is it about God’s power? Is it about God’s mercy? Those were the themes that resonated in the heart of the psalmist David. David had witnessed God’s power and he had been the recipient of God’s mercy. Truth be known, all of us have experienced God’s power at work in our lives and we have seen God act in mercy toward rather than execute justice.
David’s words in the last half of this verse speak volumes about God’s care of His children. “thou hast been my defence and refuge in the day of my trouble.” One of God’s purposes for His children is to defend us – that is where His power comes into play. There is no need for us to try to defend ourselves when God has the power to do it and the will to do. Then David speaks of God being his ‘refuge” in the day of trouble. Trouble invades the life of every believer. Some times we create it for ourselves and sometimes it comes from a source completely outside of us. No matter where it originates, God’s mercy provides the perfect refuge for us. We could ask for nothing more. God really is good all the time. Just my thoughts …

Leave a Reply

