David Has Nothing On Me!

“I love the LORD, because he hath heard my voice and my supplications. (2) Because he hath inclined his ear unto me, therefore will I call upon him as long as I live.” Psalm 116.1-2

How many reasons can you list for loving the LORD? David probably had more than one, but the one he records here is at the top of his list. Look at these words: (1) He has heard my voice, (2) He has heard my supplication, (3) he has inclined His ear unto me. I am going to state the obvious here but I am doing it for emphasis sake: (1) God HEARD David’s voice. David was confident that whether he was hiding in a cave, or dwelling among the Philistines, or leading his troops in battle, God HEARD him when he prayed. (2) God HEARD David when he prayed for others. I am relatively sure David had a prayer list of others for whom he prayed regularly. (3) He INCLINED His ear to David. Can you envision that – God bending down and cupping His ear so as not to miss a word of what David was saying? I know that is figurative language but the image is a powerful one. David concludes with: “therefore will I call upon him as long as I live.” David’s “therefore” is an extension of his confidence in God to keep on doing what He had always done.
After I read verses like this, I have a tendency to want to be jealous of David, but then I think, “Wait a minute! The same God Who hears David hears me!” Think about this with me … the same God who heard David’s voice hears your voice and my voice! The same God who heard David’s supplications hears your supplications and my supplications. The same God who inclined His ear to David inclines His ear to you and me. I just about want to clear off a space and have a Baptist shouting time! God HAS NOT CHANGED! His desire to hear you is as great as His desire was to hear David. Carry that simple truth with you today! Just my thoughts …

Leave a Reply

