Praise Him – Even When It Hurts!

“I will praise thee, O LORD, with my whole heart; I will show forth all thy marvelous works.” Psalm 9.1

One week from today will be Thanksgiving Day. We are all probably getting into “Thanksgiving spirit” gradually. But I think the psalmist interrupts us in our “gradual” run up to the official time for Thanksgiving. Look at his attitude: “I will praise thee, O LORD, with my whole heart …” Could we …would we all agree that as Christ followers, EVERY DAY ought to be a day when we praise the LORD with our whole heart? I believe praising God is more than just saying, “Praise the Lord.” I believe that my attitude ought to reflect a praising heart. I believe my actions ought to reflect a praising heart. I believe even my “reaction” ought to reflect a praising heart. A heart filled with praise is difficult to hide. Others NEED to see us when we are in the midst of a battle, whether emotional, spiritual, financial, or any other, and EVEN THEN we choose to praise Him. It is easy to praise God when every thing is going well – the kids are all well, the bills are all paid, we have a tank full of gas, the cupboard is filled with food, and things are going well with the spouse, But when the bottom drops out of any ONE of those things, there goes our praising heart.
Look at the next phrase: “I will show forth all thy marvelous works.” Can I suggest that the only time we forget to praise God is when we have chosen to forget all His “marvelous works”? Everyone reading these words can stop and begin to enumerate the times when God has demonstrated His marvelous works on our behalf. Why, then, do we so easily forget them? Don’t allow Satan to steal your praising heart by simply allowing you to forget God’s marvelous works. Just my thoughts …

Leave a Reply

