Thanksgiving – the Attitude

Enter into his gates with thanksgiving, and into his courts with praise: be thankful unto him, and bless his name.” Psalm 100.4

While today is Thanksgiving Day, Thanksgiving is really an attitude that should characterize our lives EVERY DAY of the year because of who we are in Christ. We should allow these thought provoking words from the pen of the psalmist to affect the focus of our lives daily, as well as today. “Enter into his gates with thanksgiving … ” Since the presence of God was in the Tabernacle and the Temple, the Israelite realized, “When I pass through these gates, I am in His presence.”

In order of us to grasp the significance of this phrase for us in this New Testament era, let’s look at 1 Thessalonians 5.18: “In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.” Our God is WITH us 24×7 because of His Omnipresence. Paul’s instructions here are very practical in everyday life. He does NOT say “for everything” give thanks, but “in everything give thanks … ” If I may be allowed a moment of personal reflection, this year has been a series of one health crisis after another. I had surgery for cancer in April, a minor heart attack after I came home, and then open heart surgery to correct the problems that caused the heart attack. After I healed from that surgery I began a regimen of chemotherapy to battle the cancer. This last week my oncologist said, “You are in remission.” To say that I am rejoicing is an understatement. I can say to you with an honest heart that the Lord taught me this simple but profound truth: “In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.” Have I enjoyed every experience? Absolutely not! Have I been able to “give thanks” through these experiences? By God’s grace, “Yes.”

May this DAY of Thanksgiving lead you to a daily ATTITUDE of thanksgiving. Just my thoughts …

Leave a Reply

