I Told You I Would!

Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness.” Isaiah 41.10

God always knows WHEN to speak certain words to His children. This verse begins with “Fear thou not …” Whatever it was that was facing Israel, God knew they needed to hear the words, “Fear thou not …” What is the ONE thing that would guarantee His people the sense NOT to be afraid? Here it is: “ … for I am with thee … ” The Great “I Am” said, “… I am with thee …” What more could they/we want but the guarantee of God’s presence?

God issues a second bit of encouragement: “ … be not dismayed …” What does “dismayed” mean? “To cause (someone) to feel consternation and distress:” It is much like the phrase in Psalm 37 when God says, “Fret not … “ When should they not be “dismayed”? Once again the answer is clear: “ … for I am thy God … ” God was saying to His children then and His children now, “”I’ve Got This!”

Take special note of God’s promises here: (1) I will strengthen thee; (2) yea, I will help thee; (3) yea, I will uphold thee …

And how will He do this? “ … with the right hand of my righteousness.” For us to doubt God’s promises, as Israel did on many occasions, is to say to God, “You CAN’T do everything you promise. You don’t have the ability to address my problem, much less fix it.”

We are just a few days away from a new year. None of us knows what this year will hold. We don’t know if we will even be ALIVE at the end of this year. We know NOTHING about what this New Year will bring. But the GOOD NEWS is, God KNOWS. That is enough for me. How about you? Just my thoughts …

Leave a Reply

