We Get Both!

Let us therefore come boldly unto the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy, and find grace to help in time of need.” Hebrews 4.16

How much do you know about tomorrow? About the New Year? About the rest of life itself? If you are honest, your answer must be, “I don’t know anything for CERTAIN about tomorrow, the New Year, or the rest of my life.”

Would it be right then to conclude that you and I are in need of “grace to help in time of need”? I know that I surely need God’s grace to help me in my times of need, and they seem to become more frequent the longer I live.

What does the writer of Hebrews tell us about God and our needs? Let’s look: “Let us therefore come boldly unto the throne of grace … ” A throne speaks of a king. A king is one who has absolute power over life and death. But THIS throne is characterized by an unusual element – GRACE! Someone has made and acronym from this word: God’s Riches At Christ’s Expense. Everything God chooses to give me as an act of His grace is because of the work Christ did on Calvary.

Now let’s notice one more significant truth: “ … that we may obtain mercy … ” When I think of grace, I am amazed because I am receiving something that I do not deserve. But when I think about mercy, another truth surfaces. I am NOT getting what I do deserve. Each of us are born sinners, aliens from God and we deserve hell, but God, in His grace and mercy, chooses to give us eternal life with Him because we have received His Son as our Savior.

In the New Year that is upon us, let’s make the conscious choice to live for God and take full advantage of His request for us to come to His “throne of grace” to obtain mercy and “find grace to help in time of need.” Just my thoughts …

Leave a Reply

