“Behold … a New Thing!”

Behold, I will do a new thing; now it shall spring forth; shall ye not know it? I will even make a way in the wilderness, and rivers in the desert.” Isaiah 43.19

The words from God in this verse can speak directly to us as we enter this New Year. Everything that God is going to do in this New Year will be new to us. Look at the way He phrases His words: “Behold, I will do a new thing …

If we aren’t careful, we will try to put God in a box and say things like: “God can’t do that.” Or “I know God can do a lot of things, but I’m not sure about that.” He states two things that seem to be difficult if not impossible for us to comprehend. First He says: “ I will even make a way in the wilderness … ” A wilderness, by its very definition, is anything but a clear path. But God says, “I WILL … make a way in the wilderness … ” Sometimes we become engrossed in HOW God is going to do something. What does it matter HOW He does it as long as He does what only He can do?

Then God says: “I will … make … rivers in the desert.” The last thing you expect to find in a desert is a river. As you look longingly at the New Year that is yet to unfold before you, it may seem like a desert to you. BUT God is prepared to do more for you than you would ever imagine. And you and I must never attempt to paint God into a corner and say “that’s impossible.”

Let’s look again at the opening words of this verse: “Behold, I will do a new thing; now it shall spring forth; shall ye not know it?” Our faith must never be based on what WE think God can do, but on God’s promise of what He has said HE WILL DO. Just my thoughts …

Leave a Reply

