How Precious Is Life?

Whoso sheddeth man’s blood, by man shall his blood be shed: for in the image of God made he man.” Genesis 9.6

I am overwhelmed with the statement: “ … in the image of God made he man.” I am not sure I know all that this statement means. But being made in the image of God tells me that my life and your life are special to God. One of the definitions offered in the dictionary for image is this: “a mental representation or idea.” When you think of God, what mental image comes to mind? I can tell you what does NOT come to mind for me. I do not see God as some granddaddy in the sky who is arbitrarily blessing this one and not blessing another.

But let’s focus for a moment in the opening phrase of this verse: “Whoso sheddeth man’s blood, by man shall his blood be shed … ” God counts ALL life as precious. In the face of a culture that has seemingly cheapened life, I wonder if WE as God’s children have allowed our culture to cause us to see life differently.

If I mention abortion, most believers will take an adamant stand against it. But God is calling upon civil government to hold life precious as well. The phrase, “… by man shall his blood be shed … ” does NOT mean “an eye for an eye” mentality. God is calling for the civil government that handles the day-to-day affairs of our culture to use capital punishment to stop the onslaught of the taking of a human life.

If EVERYONE is made in God’s image, then when we as a society willingly look the other way when someone takes a life, we are, by our actions, saying, “If God were here, that is what I would do to Him.” We don’t say that out loud, but our silence says that. Again, these are Just MY Thoughts …

Leave a Reply

