How Attached Are You?

I am the vine, ye are the branches: He that abideth in me, and I in him, the same bringeth forth much fruit: for without me ye can do nothing.” John 15.5

How many times have we (you and me) attempted to do something significant for the Lord and quickly discovered that we could NOT do it in our own strength? The truth is that I have done that far more times than I want to admit.

In this passage in John 15 Jesus is speaking and He is giving His followers some “last minute instructions” because the cross is imminent. The entire 15th chapter is certainly worth a careful study. But here Jesus makes the point that “without (Him) we can do nothing.

The Lord quickly identifies Himself as the source (vine) that we need if we are going to serve Him. What does He mean when He says, “ … He that abideth in me … ”? How does one abide in God’s presence? It is a given that God is omnipresent, so what is different about this “abiding”?

I believe there is a difference in KNOWING God is omnipresent and I am always in His presence and delighting ourselves in God’s presence because I choose to live victoriously because of who I m in Christ. There is a significant difference between “tolerating” God looking over your shoulder and living or abiding in His presence because you don’t want to live life any other way.

Jesus equates “fruit bearing” with abiding in Him. I believe that bearing fruit as a believer must be a daily priority. We cannot be content if fruit bearing is not a part of our life.

Look carefully at this last phrase: “ … without me ye can do nothing.” This is where the rubber meets the road. The daily grind of life in this world will tax us beyond our ability to stand for God, unless we remember that without Him we can nothing. We have most of the year before us. Let’s make the commitment to God (if you have not already done so) that our service for Him in 2017 will only result in fruit when we abide (remain) in Him – and that is our goal. Just my thoughts …

Leave a Reply

