It’s a Great Place to Be!

Humble yourselves therefore under the mighty hand of God, that he may exalt you in due time: 7Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you.” 1 Peter 5.6-7

Humility is one of those topics that is difficult to talk about. We don’t want others thinking that we are “humble and proud of it.” If we can believe Peter’s words (and we can), then humility is something we must address in our lives on a regular basis.

Let’s take note of Peter’s teaching for us in v. 6: “Humble yourselves therefore under the mighty hand of God, that he may exalt you in due time … ” The principle is simple to read, but a little more difficult to implement. We are to humble OURSELVES under God’s hand. Can I suggest that this process is not difficult if I am willing to see God for who He is and see myself for who I am in Christ and realize that everything I am, God has chosen to do for me? The state of humility is easy to acquire as long as I am willing to see God for Who He is. His love for me is His idea. His plan of salvation is His idea. His blessings on me daily are His idea.

When we do what God asks, then He is in a position to “exalt (us) in due time …” Can you see places in your life where God exalted you and you had no idea why – He just did. For several years I was elected president of an organization and that election literally blew me away. It was not something I sought, but for whatever reason, God chose to put me there. I am so thankful for the opportunities afforded me while serving in that honored position.

I am so glad these two verses are side-by-side: “7Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you.” God’s care for us goes far beyond what we think we need and embraces all our needs. All we need to do is cast our cares on Him. He never intended for us to carry things that only He can handle for us. Just my thoughts…

 

Leave a Reply

