Go Ahead – Let Go!

Jesus said unto him, Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind. 38This is the first and great commandment.” Matthew 22.37-38

The Pharisees were always trying to trap Jesus with some “difficult” question. When they asked Him about “the great commandment,” He gave them the words written above. The Lord shouldn’t have to remind His followers to “love” Him; it should be a natural response from our hearts.

Since they were in the “question asking” mode, Jesus asked them a question. “While the Pharisees were gathered together, Jesus asked them, … ‘What think ye of Christ? Whose son is he?’ They say unto him, The Son of David.” (Matthew 22.41-42) His greatest critics were forced to acknowledge who He was – the Son of David. Then Jesus goes on to question them further. (Read the rest of the passage for yourself.)

But let’s bring these verses (vs. 37-38) to life in our own lives. How difficult would it be for you to respond, “Yes, I love the Lord with all my heart, with all my soul, and with all my mind.”? What is the Lore looking for with this statement? As Oswald Chambers writes often, He is looking for a “reckless abandonment” of our lives to Him.

Such a surrender of our being to Him says, “If God doesn’t show up, I will surely fail.” I don’t know about you, but I never want to fail, especially on purpose. So if the only way to guarantee that my life will be all that God wants it to be, I must make that decision to recklessly abandon my life, my all, to Him.

I believe that until we have done that, we are in no position to ask God for anything. Look at these words from the lips of Jesus: “This is the first and great commandment.” If the desire of my heart and yours is to completely obey Him, then we must OBEY this “first and great commandment.” Just my thoughts …

Leave a Reply

