Surrender – Really?

So then faith cometh by hearing, and hearing by the word of God.” Romans 10.17

What does this verse say to you? I know the obvious answer is that we must hear the Word of God before we can come to God for salvation.

The preceding verses 13-15 give us some insight: “For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved. 14How then shall they call on him in whom they have not believed? and how shall they believe in him of whom they have not heard? and how shall they hear without a preacher? 15And how shall they preach, except they be sent? as it is written, How beautiful are the feet of them that preach the gospel of peace, and bring glad tidings of good things!

Is this not a call to the gospel-preaching church to evangelize the world? If some have never HEARD, then they cannot call on one they do not know even exists. Oswald J. Smith said, “Why should anyone hear the gospel twice until all have heard the gospel once?” What a powerful question! Just about the time we think we (the New Testament Church) have done all that we can do, another pocket of people is discovered who have never heard the gospel once and they do not have the Word of God in their language.

My hat is off to those translators who are working diligently to get the Bible into as many languages as possible. I am also grateful for every person who surrenders to the call of God to go to the regions beyond to spread the gospel. My heart is grieving because of those whom God has called to go and they have not responded to His call.

Has He spoken your name and said, “Give me your heart and I will send you?” I have visited quite a number of mission fields and I have told God on every one of them, “If you want me to go here, I am willing.” That was the desire of my heart – be where God wants me to be. That is STILL the desire of my heart today. How about you? Just my thoughts …

Leave a Reply

