“I AM”? Yes “I AM”!

And God said unto Moses, I AM THAT I AM: and he said, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, I AM hath sent me unto you.” Exodus 3.14

I don’t know how much you think about the names of God that are used in the Bible. Each of them addresses a different truth about who God is. Moses was bantering with God about going to talk to Pharaoh about letting God’s people go. They had been slaves I Egypt for 430 years. He was also afraid the Israelites would not listen to him.

In the verse quoted above God refers to Himself as ‘I AM”. An inquiring mind might ask, “I AM” what? What does that mean? He speaks to His servant with these words, “I AM THAT I AM … ” God was saying to Moses, “I am all you need.” Friends, there are times when you and I wonder if God is enough to meet our needs. May I suggest that we never know if God is enough until He is all we have. God is the “whatever” in whatever you need.

Then God says, “Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, I AM hath sent me unto you.” Then God amplifies His instructions with this: “And God said moreover unto Moses, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, The LORD God of your fathers, the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob, hath sent me unto you: this is my name for ever, and this is my memorial unto all generations.” God had been “enough” for Abraham, for Isaac, and for Jacob. And He would be enough for His people now.

Let’s bring this discussion into the 21st Century. When you and I wonder if God is our “I AM,” we must never think in the negative. This “I AM” is enough. We have never seen God’s power completely displayed in our lives. We HAVE seem Him meet a particular need, whether health related, or family related, or job related, or no matter what the particular need that we faced. Since God has NEVER failed ANY of His children, we can conclude that He is not going to start failing us now. Press ON! In Jesus’ name, press on. Just my thoughts …

Leave a Reply

