Abandoned? No, Never!

When my father and my mother forsake me, then the LORD will take me up.” Psalm 27.10

Some people reading this may have experienced abandonment in their childhood. When there is a divorce in a family, if there are children, they may feel abandoned by the parent who leaves the family. Some children, through no fault of their own, find themselves in an orphanage at an early age and they feel abandoned by both parents. And there are other examples of abandonment that space and time will not permit to be covered here.

This verse originally came to my attention when I was called upon to counsel someone who was feeling abandoned. The principle truth that David is expressing is this; no matter who else in our lives chooses to walk away from us, leaving us feel abandoned, “then the LORD will take me up.” It is my prayer that we can catch a glimpse of God’s heart here. As God the Father, He sees every broken heart, every wounded spirit, every moment of disappointment.

Think of that simple phrase: “the LORD will take me up.” When I hear the words “take me up”, I think immediately of a parent who reaches down to a weeping child and picks him/her up and brings them close to His heart. The weeping child is comforted because someone was willing to take them up.

When I read a powerful passage like this, I wonder if I REALLY know my God and the heart that He has for me? He CARES if I feel “forsaken.” He cares if I have lost all hope. He cares when I am having difficulty finding the next step. And yes, He cares when I feel lonely.

What truth can we take away from this verse? Can I suggest that we begin to realize that God’s love for us is immeasurable? If you have put God in a box in your thinking, this God of ours cannot be contained in a box. He longs to demonstrate His unconditional love for us if only we will let Him. Just my thoughts…

Leave a Reply

