Not a Bad Job!

The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want. 2 He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters. 3 He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.” Psalm 23.1-3

What a job! Think about it. You get to sleep under the open sky every night. You have animals around you that follow your every move and long for your personal touch every day. And your nearest neighbor may be10 miles away – who knows? The shepherd boy David is writing here. He has been dispatched to tend to the sheep while his brothers and family are cozy in their homes.

Despite what we might call all the inconveniences associated with his job, David declares, “The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want.” Can you say that? “I shall not want.” That phrase speaks of CONTENTMENT – contentment with what you HAVE, with what you DO, and with where you GO. Such an attitude requires of us a focus on God that does not waver when hard times come – and they WILL come.

Instead of looking at the tough things in his life, David emphasizes the positive. (1) He makes me lie down in green pastures. That is a positive. (2) He leads me beside still waters. That is a positive. (3) He restores my soul. That is a positive. (4) He leads me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake. That is a positive. Sounds like God knows just exactly what David needs and supplies it for him.

Do you believe God knows just exactly what you need? Do you believe God can and will supply that need or needs? In the course of my ministry I have talked with so many widows and widowers who have expressed to me the miraculous way God met their needs. I am never surprised, because that is what God does for His children.

If we can take ANYTHING away from this short devotional, let it be that we are going to focus on the positive things God does in our lives – the miraculous way He meets our needs. That’s what David did and that is what you and I should do too. Just my thoughts …

Leave a Reply

