What Does It Take to Move You?

I have set the LORD always before me: because he is at my right hand, I shall not be moved.” Psalm 16.8

What does life look like when we set the LORD always before us? The focus of our daily life moves from self to the Savior. Seems simple doesn’t it? But it is far from simple. We are born with a selfish bent and that seems to grow stronger with each passing day. Some one who is a narcissist has never learned to move the focus of life from self to anyone or anything else.

In these words the psalmist reveals his heart. He has come to some point in his life when he recognized that God is the significant One and not himself. He was chased by King Saul, who wanted to take his life. He was betrayed by his son who tried to take over his kingdom. He slept under the open sky as a shepherd and had plenty of time to evaluate life. His conclusion? “I have set the LORD always before me … ” That was when life for him moved from self to His God.

Why would a man like David make such a change in attitude and purpose? He tells us: “ … because he is at my right hand, I shall not be moved.” Knowing that God was always with him, David made the choice to live like God was looking over his shoulder – because He was. When Saul became king, David already knew that one day he would be king – God had said. When Absalom attempted to steal his kingdom, David already knew it would fail – God had said David would be king, not Absalom.

There is a hymn with these words:

Jesus is my Savior, I shall not be moved;
In His love and favor, I shall not be moved,
Just like a tree that’s planted by the waters,
Lord, I shall not be moved.

I shall not be, I shall not be moved;
I shall not be, I shall not be moved;
Just like a tree that’s planted by the waters,
Lord, I shall not be moved.

Just think about it! Just my thoughts …

Leave a Reply

